Amritsar Lok Sabha Constituency

Amritsar Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha (parliamentary) constituencies in Punjab state in northern India, represented since the 2014 general election by Amarinder Singh of the Congress party. Before that, it had been held by Navjot Singh Sidhu of the Bharatiya Janata Party since 2004. The current Minister of Finance of India, Arun Jaitley, unsuccessfully contested this constituency for the BJP in 2014.

Constituency Name
Votes Polled
Polling (in %)
Evm Postal Total
Amritsar 2 GEN 1477260 1004577 86 1004663 68.19 2533
Winner Party Winner Votes Runner-Up Party Votes Vote Margin
Captain Amarinder Singh INC 482876 Arun Jaitley BJP 380106 102770
Winner(2017 byelection) Party
Gurjeet Singh Aujla


Read more about Amritsar Lok Sabha politicians. Rate their profile and give comments. You can also ask question and more by submitting a form.

Navjot Singh Sidhu INC Amritsar

Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina BJP Amritsar

Gurjeet Singh Aujla INC Amritsar

Need New Politician

If you are unsatisfied with the listed politician and wish a new face to be listed here. Register your candidate.

Political History

Year Winner Gender Party
2014 Captain Amarinder Singh M INC
2009 Sidhu,Shri Navjot Singh M BJP
2007 Navjot Singh Sidhu M BJP
2004 Navjot Singh Sidhu M BJP
1999 Raghunandan Lal Bhatia Bhatia M INC
1998 Daya Singh Sodhi M BJP
1996 Raghnandan Lal Bhatia M INC
1992 Raghunandan Lal Bhatia Bhatia M INC
1989 Kirpal Singh M IND
1985 Raghunandan Lal Bhatia Bhatia M INC
1980 Raghunandan Lal Bhatia M INC(I)
1977 Baldev Parkash M BLD
1972 R.L.Bhatia M INC
1971 Durga Das Bhatia M INC
1967 Y.D. Sharma M BJS
1962 Gurmukh Singh Musafir M INC
1957 Gurmukh Singh Musafir Musafir M INC
1951 Gurmukh Singh Musafir Musaffar M INC

Know more about neighbouring Constituencies