Bharatiya Janata Party (bjp)

Bharatiya Janata Party is one of the largest political party when it comes to representation in the parliament of India. Currently, this party is led by Narendra Modi, also the prime minister of the country. The party is completely based on Hindutva ideology which comes from RSS

Foundation of BJP

The Bhartiya Janta Party is an Indian Political Party. It is one of the two major political parties in India with the other being the Indian National Congress. It is the largest party representation in the national parliament and state assemblies in India as of 2018. Moreover,
it is the world’s largest party in terms of primary membership. The BJP is a right-wing
centered party. Its policies have reflected Hindu nationalist positions. The BJP has close
ideological and organizational links to Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh(RSS).

The BJP is currently the ruling party at the Central Government in India. The achievements of the BJP in current times are exemplary to other parties. The party’s roots run deep in the post-independence era of India. It has endured a lot and now stands as a symbol of development in front of the people of India.


The origins of the BJP lies in Bhartiya Janta Sangh, a party which got formed in 1951. Its founder was Syama Prasad Mukherjee. The Janta Sangh merged with several other parties to form the Janta Party. It came into being after the State of Emergency in 1977. Moreover, the Janta party defeated the incumbent Congress party. The Janata Party won in the 1977 general elections.

They formed the Government at the Centre and served for three years. It was finally dissolved after the three in 1980. The members of the erstwhile Jana Sangha then banded together. They formed the Bhartiya Janta Party(BJP) in 1980.

Events Leading to its Foundation:


Bhartiya Jana Sangha(1951-1977):

The Bhartiya Jana Sangha(BJS) came into being in response to the politics of the dominant Congress Party in 1951. Its founder was Syama Prasad Mukherjee. The party got founded in collaboration with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh(RSS). The RSS is a Hindu nationalist volunteer organization. BJS in the public eye acted as its political arm. The aims of the BJS included the protection of India’s Hindu culture identity. Another aim was to counter what appeared to be appeasement of Muslims and Pakistan by Congress. Deendayal Upadhyaya, who was an RSS pracharak was one among the several loaned by the RSS to BJS. RSS helped to get the party on its feet. Later, Deendayal got appointed as the General Secretary of the BJS. The Janta Sangha remained a minority party in the Indian Parliament from 1952 till 1967. After the death of Mukherjee due to a heart attack, Mauli Chandra Sharma got elected to succeed him. He was later forced out of power by several RSS activists in the party. The leadership passed on to Upadhyaya who remained General Secretary till 1967. Upadhyaya during his time articulated the philosophy of integral humanism. It later formed the official doctrine of the party. Leaders such as Lal Krishna Advani and Atal Bihari Vajpayee also got involved with the leadership in this period. Vajpayee succeeded Upadhyaya as President of the party in 1968. There several major political agendas of the party during this period.

They included:

Legislating a uniform civil code, banning cow slaughter. Abolishing the special status given to Jammu and Kashmir was also a primary agenda of the party.

Janta Party(1977-1980):

Prime Minister Indira Gandhi imposed the State of Emergency in 1975. The BJS took part in a nationwide protest. Thousands of its members got arrested along with other agitators across the country. The emergency over in 1977 and elections took place. The Jana Sangha merged with many parties. The list included parties like the Socialist Party, the Congress(O) and the Bhartiya Lok Dal. They merged to form the Janata Party with its primary goal being the defeat of Indira Gandhi.

The Janata Party won the 1977 general elections. They won with the majority and formed
Government at the center. Morarji Desai became the Prime Minister of that government. The former BJS formed the majority of the Janta Party’s parliamentary contingent. They had 93 seats making 31% of the Janata Party’s total strength. Vajpayee who before was the leader of the BJS got appointed as the Minister of External Affairs. The national leaders of the BJS renounced its identities. They tried to integrate with the ideologies of the Janata Party. Their ideologies were based on Gandhian and Hindu traditionalist principles. The state and local levels of the BJS remained unchanged and were still related to the RSS. The violence between Hindu and Muslims escalated during this period. Former BJS members were being implicated riots. The riots took place at Aligarh and Jamshedpur in 1978-1979.

The other major parties with the Janata Party demanded that the BJS should sever its ties to
the RSS. The members of the BJS refused to comply. Part of the Janata Party broke off to form the Janata Party(secular). The Morarji Deshi’s government got reduced to a minority in the Parliament. It lead to the party’s resignation. The National Executive Council of the Janata Party banned its members from being members of both the Janata Party and the RSS in April 1980. In its response, the former Jana Sangha members left the Janata Party to form a new political party.

Formation of the BJP

Finally, the members of the Jana Sangha formed the Bhartiya Janata Party(BJP) on 6th April 1980. The founding members of the BJP were Lal Krishna Advani and Atal Bihari Vajpayee.


The BJP was formed on the Philosophy of “Integral Humanity”. This philosophy was first formulated by Deendayal Upadhyaya in 1965. The party’s ideology remains committed to Hindutva. It is an ideology articulated by Indian independence activist Vinayak Damodar Savarkar. Hindutva is cultural nationalism which favors Indian culture over western. It extends to all Indians regardless of their religion.

bharatiya janata party

Strong Alliance Game:

National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is a political alliance led by BJP. It was founded in 1997. With “India shining” as their slogan, the NDA attempted to depict that they were behind the rapid economic transformation of the country.


BJP’s strength lies in its party leader. Winning back to back two elections is not easy.
It is Narendra Modi’s good communicative skills that have led to the victory every time.
Right from the start, he has been a good and healthy figure in terms of spreading positivity.

Work was done to date :

1. Introduced Swachh Bharat Abhiyan (Clean India Campaign)

It was launched on October 2, 2014, by Modi.
Sanitation and hygiene is one main problem that needs to be tackled in our country.
Hence, Modi gave this problem due to the importance and launched the campaign.
People from every sphere helped to initiate the movement.

2. Jan Dhana Yojana :

Over 15 crores banks accounts were opened in the last year.
This Yojana was launched on August 15, 2014.
The aim was to provide a pension in every household.

3. Increased Tourism:

Working on the economic development, the Statue of Unity is built as a great tourist attraction.
Following that, we have a signature bridge as well.

Current Status :

Currently, BJP is a dominant party. There is no such party that can cross the eminent position of the party.
Moreover, there is no leader as good as Narendra Modi who can run the country at such ease.
But the question arises after Modi who?