Famous Sportsman turned Politicians in India

Maps of India

Everyone in this world is born with more than one talent. We need to hone them and see what they make of us. In today’s world, a country is well known in the world because of its sportsmen. These sportsmen have brought honor to their country. Even so, many sports individuals have tried serving their country outside their area of expertise by joining politics. Some of these Famous Sportsman turned Politicians in India have also been a popular face in Indian politics.

Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi:

Mansoor Ali Khan is the famous Indian cricketer who did not have good luck in politics. He
was the Nawab of Pataudi. It was before the titles of the princely got abolished by the government of India. He was a famous Captain of the Indian cricket team. After the end of his cricket carrier, he sought out for politics. He gave his first shot at politics in 1971. He participated in the general assembly election of 1971 and tasted utter defeat. Later, he participated again in the 1991 general assembly elections. Famous personalities like former
Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi and successful cricket captain Kapil Dev campaigned for him.
Even so, he had to face defeat in the elections. After his second unsuccessful attempt at
politics, he decided not to join politics.

Navjot Singh Siddhu:

Navjot Singh Siddhu is another famous Indian cricketer who joined politics after his retirement in 1999. He won the ticket for BJP from Amritsar in 2004 general assembly elections. He won the 2009 general elections again from Amritsar constituency from BJP. Later, Sidhu became a Member of the Parliament in Rajya Sabha in 2016. Sidhu made his party along with Pragat Singh in July of 2016 and left BJP. He left BJP due to feeling negligence at the party. He named his new party as Awaaz-e-Punjab. He claimed to fight against those who worked against Punjab. Later, he joined the INC in 2017. He got appointed as Minister of Tourism and Local Bodies in Punjab Cabinet in 2017.

Aslam Sher Khan:

Aslam Sher Khan was a former hockey player in the Indian Hockey team. Mr. Aslam
represented India at the Munich Olympics in the year 1972. He joined politics with the Indian National Congress. Later, he contested elections the Betul constituency. Being an active member Mr. Aslam was re-elected in the year 1991. But his political did not pay off well since he lost in three general elections of 1996, 2004 and 2009.

Nafisa Ali:

In the field of swimming Nafisa Ali, a female character found out to be the most dominating in terms of her performance. She won back to back medals in the national swimming championship. She stepped into her political carrier in the year 2004 by joining the Trinamool Congress (TMC). Later in the year 2009, she won the constituency seat of Lucknow from the Samajwadi Party. Yet, after a brief time, she rejoined INC in November of 2009. She said that she is returning to the party for the rest of her life.

There are many more FAMOUS SPORTSMEN TURNED POLITICIANS in the list like Goutam Gambhir, Vijender Singh, Mahavir Phogat, Mohammad Azharuddin, Kirti Azad, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, etc

Track Your Constituency

Now track your Vidhan Sabha, Lok Sabha Constituencies - Upcoming Elections etc

What is your View?

If you like the article you can share it on Facebook, Twitter, etc