Prem Kumar Dhumal - Biography

Prem Kumar Dhumal

Prem Kumar Dhumal is an Indian Politician. He was the Chief Ministerial candidate for the 2017 Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections of the BJP. Unfortunately, he lost his seat in the elections. Previously, he has held the office of the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh twice. It was from March 1998 to March 2003 and then again from 1 January 2008 to 25 December

Early Life

Dhumal was born on 10th April 1944 in Samirpur village of Hamirpur District. He completed his degree of LL.B. from Gurunanak Dev University in Amritsar. He completed his masters degree in M.A. in Jalandhar from Doaba College. Later, he became a lecturer in Punjab at a private college.

Prem Kumar Dhumal got married to Sheela Dhumal. The couple has two sons together. They are Arun Thakur and Anurag Thakur. Anurag Thakur is also a politician. He was also a member of the 14th and 15th Lok Sabha.

Political Career:

Prem Kumar Dhumal in 1982, became the Vice President of the Bhartiya Janta Yuva Morcha. In 1984, the sitting Member of Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly(MLA) and Jagdev Chand (state stalwart), refused to stand. They refused to stand for the Hamirpur constituency. This lead to the selection of Prem Kumar as a candidate for Hamirpur. Later, Dhumal lost the elections. He stood again and won the elections in 1989 and 1991. In 1996, he lost the seat of Hamirpur constituency to Major General Bikram Singh.

Prem Kumar Dhumal became active in state politics in 1993, after the sudden death of Jagdev Chand. He got appointed as the President of the Bhartiya Janta Party of Himachal Pradesh from 1993.

He became the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. It was after he won from the Bamsan constituency in the Legislative Assembly. He won by a margin of 18,000 votes.

Politics after the year 2000

Prem Kumar Dhumal headed the coalition government of the BJP-Himachal Vikas Congress. He led the government to its full statutory term of five years. He became the leader of the Opposition in 2003 when BJP lost power. He won only 16 seats despite the support from the NDA Union government.

Many significant infrastructure developments came to be in this period particularly of roads. This gave rise to Dhumal’s nickname as Sadak walla Chief Minister.

Prem Kumar Dhumal won the Hamirpur constituency in 2007 by-elections for the Lok Sabha. He then resigned from his seat in the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly. He was later replaced by his son Anurag Thakur in May of 2008.

He became the CM of Himachal Pradesh for the second time on 30 December 2007. The BJP again lost power in the 2012 elections. He was the CM candidate of BJP in the Himachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections of 2017. He stood from Sujanpur constituency but lost to a candidate of the INC. Although, BJP won the elections of 2017 in Himanchal. He could not become the Chief Minister for the third time since he lost.

Track Your Constituency

Now track your Vidhan Sabha, Lok Sabha Constituencies - Upcoming Elections etc

What is your View?

If you like the article you can share it on Facebook, Twitter, etc