Samajwadi Party

Samajvadi Party

The party was founded by Mulayam Singh Yadav in 1992. Election Commission of India has designated it as State Party.
SP (Samajwadi Party) is Left-Wing party. Mainly Caste Based politics.

It has a strong presence in Uttar Pradesh. Bicycle is the Election symbol of Samajwadi Party.
Currently, the party is led by former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Akhilesh Yadav.


Five main pillars of SP ideology. One, Secularism which stands for equal treatment to all.
Two, Democratic Socialism refers to a democratic way of ruling along with the social economy.

Three, Social Conservatism refers to maintaining a relationship between traditional values and established institution.
Four, Populism to be removed from democracy.

Emergence of Samajwadi Party:

One of the parties which emerged after the Janata Dal split into various regional parties. Created months after Babri Masjid Demolition.

Mulayam Singh Yadav had supported from outside UPA for up to Sixteenth Lokasabha.
Initial days of Sonia Gandhi in Politics, Samajwadi Party has criticized her a lot While In 209 it contested the election with RJD and LJP of Bihar.

Party for Yadavs and Muslims:

Opponents of Samajwadi Party have criticized the party for having a soft corner for Yadavs and Muslims. The certain decision of the Samajwadi Party had proved over the period of time.

That’s why the Samajwadi Party has a strong influence over Yadav and Muslim voters. In 2012 Assembly Elections party gained a landslide victory.

Current Scenario:

Akhilesh Yadav contested assembly election in 2017 with INC. Also, In 2019 Akhilesh Yadav contested General Elections with his rival BSP.

Mahagathbandhan was formed to attract the Yadav, Muslim, and Dalit, voters.

Political Decline:

Disputes on Rise:

After a party meeting in Lucknow, Akhilesh Yadav was declared as the party president.
This appointment led to several disputes in the Yadav family. Fight inside Family came out in Media.

Ramgopal and Akhilesh Yadav were terminated from the party. Party Symbol and Party Presidentship were the major issues.

Shivpal Issue:

Shivpal Yadav former Minister of Uttar Pradesh and Brother of Mulayam Singh Yadav. Formed his own party Pragatishil Samajwadi Party.

PRSP contested Lok Sabha election on several seats. Shivpal’s party turned out to be vote splitter in 2019 for Samajwadi Party.


BJP defeated the Akhilesh Yadav in a Landslide victory in 2017 Assembly Elections. Party secured only 47 seats in UP legislative assembly.

Results remained same for Samajwadi Party in 2019 General Elections as well. Only 5 seats came for Samajwadi Party .